What I Ate Wednesday (WIAW)

I have always loved reading my favorite bloggers posts about what they eat throughout the day. In the foodie blogging world, What I Ate Wednesday is pretty popular, despite the fact that you are actually looking at what people eat on Tuesday… Anyways, let’s get to the good stuff (aka what I ate).

I woke up early to eat something before my run. I cannot run on an empty stomach if the mileage is more than 3 miles. Instead of eating a snack, I prefer to eat my normal breakfast which is usually oatmeal of some kind. This morning I had overnight oats that I had prepped the night before. It was so cold this morning that I nuked them in the microwave to take the chill off because I couldn’t fathom a cold breakfast. The combination was 1/2 cup oats, 4 ounces vanilla Siggi’s yogurt, probably 2 tablespoons milk and a splash more water for consistency and a tablespoon of peanut butter.

After running in every layer of clothing I could find (it was 11 degrees) I munched on a banana and drank some hot coffee to warm up a bit. Then I sat down to do homework while doing my laundry (hate).

Around 11:15 I was hungry for lunch since I had eaten breakfast at 6:30 and knew I wanted to have a repeat of the night before. Monday night I had made an avocado egg salad sandwich. It turned out to be very messy so instead I made a new version of avocado egg toast! I often will eat this same meal with fried eggs but hardboiled worked just as well. Next time I’m going to add red pepper flakes, I think. I had some sliced pepper on the side, too.

I spent the afternoon on campus working with a friend. For a snack I had two of my energy balls and they were so tasty!! Not too sweet because I didn’t add any sweetener other than the raisins and a good consistency. I will definitely be making this recipe again. They were still a bit oily so I may add more wheat bran or oats next time. About a half hour later I had a mini blood orange because I am always hungry (the picture was when it was only half peeled-I didn’t eat it like that.)

img_5401

I had dinner while sitting in class listening to a lecture because I had a commitment after class that wouldn’t have me getting home until maybe 7:30/8…I didn’t know how long it would take or how long it would take me to walk home. Therefore, I decided to avoid hanger, especially since I was walking home and needed the energy. Dinner included leftover pork, roasted sweet potatoes, a few leftover brussel sprouts and sliced peppers. I took this photo after I packed lunch because the sunlight was so nice and I wasn’t about to embarrass myself taking a picture in class.

I ended up walking about 18,000 steps today and on my way home picked up a bottle of wine. I was thinking ice cream but realized I really wanted a good bottle of red wine…Aka Apothic red blend.
Relaxing with some TV and reading before bed. And snacking on some chocolate because why not (sorry no picture…I ate it without being mindful…wine will do that to ya).

 

Happy eating.

Leave a Reply

