Raisin-Banana-Bran Muffins

The title has a catchy ring to it, doesn’t it? Or is it just me?

The other day when I should have been doing homework I decided to make muffins instead. Lately, it has been so challenging for me to get work done at home. However, I would say that these muffins are worth the procrastination.

The recipe that I made is an adaptation from a cookbook that I have, The Runner’s Wold Cookbook (Sayago Golub, 2013). I altered their Hearty Whole Grain Muffin recipe quite a bit, but appreciated the general outline to follow for a nutrient-dense muffin.

This was another attempt to use up more of the wheat bran that I have on hand from making meatloaf a few weeks back. I also have leftover steel cut oats that I need to use up. Steel cut oats take so much time to cook…and dishes…and I’m too hungry in the morning to deal with that. Another inspiration for the muffins was the rapidly browning bananas on the top of my refrigerator. I don’t like freezing bananas because they taste differently to me so I knew I had to make use of them. I ended up substituting the bananas for the applesauce in the recipe, which worked out perfectly.

img_5389

Raisin-Banana-Bran Muffins
Makes 12 muffins 

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup wheat bran
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup steel cut oats
  • 1/4 cup ground flaxseed
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons – 1 tablespoon of spice of choice (cinnamon, pumpkin spice, etc.)
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup milk of choice
  • 1/4 cup honey or alternative sweetener
  • 2 mashed bananas
  • 1/3 cup Optional mix-ins (raisins, nuts, seeds, etc.)

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit and get mixing!
  2. Mix the first 7 ingredients (the dry ingredients) together in a large bowl. For the spice, I used Speculaas spice from King Arthur Flour. It tastes similar to gingerbread.
  3. Whisk two eggs in a medium sized bowl and mash the bananas into the egg mixture. Add the rest of the ingredients to the egg mixture as well. If the honey doesn’t mix in, that’s okay, it will combine evenly when you stir everything together.
  4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir only just until combined. Over-mixing will give you tougher muffins.
  5. Spray your muffin tin with cooking spray (Pam to the rescue). Using a 1/4 measuring cup pour the batter into the muffin tin. This should perfectly make 12 muffins.
  6. Bake for about 12-15 minutes, check after 10 minutes as every oven is different (my gas oven cooks very fast).
  7. Allow to cool before removing from the muffin tin and cooling some more on an iron rack.

Enjoy crumbled with some yogurt and fruit in the morning, as a snack or however your heart desires!

I had these muffins taste-tested by two of my close soon-to-be-RD friends. They both commented on how these muffins are not too sweet. I cut back on the amount of sweetener that I added thinking that the banana and the raisins would add a natural sweetness. Try them for yourself and let me know what you think. 

Happy eating.

 

References:

Sayago Golub J. The runner’s world cookbook. New York, New York: Rodale, 2013. Print.

Leave a Reply

