What I Ate Wednesday

I know it’s Wednesday, but I remembered to take pictures of what I ate on Monday. It wasn’t the prettiest of meals since I didn’t really plan my meals well for this week…I am struggling on that lately. Why you may ask?

For one, I cook for myself and cooking for one is only exciting for so long. Then you have to eat that meal for like 6 days…

Second, it’s been a bit gloomy lately and all I want is comfort food so it’s not pretty meals. I also have been failing at my New Year’s Resolution to eat meals at my table. I just get home from class and its dark and I want to curl up on my futon (so college, right?).

Flash back to Monday

Anyways, this morning I got to sleep in and woke up at…7:15am…thank you internal alarm clock. I ended up going to bed around 11pm because I was scrapbooking (nerd alert) and, therefore, did not catch up on sleep after working this weekend. Boo. But I did wake up to beautiful snow and icicles!


I feel like I am stuck in a breakfast rut! I eat the same thing all the time, mostly because I love nut butter and can’t live a day without it. My oatmeal just wasn’t as satisfying as it normally is today…Not sure why.

(This was a picture from another day but it looked exactly the same)

It’s my usual 1/2 cup oats with 1/2 cup milk, 1/2 cup water, 1/2 tablespoon of chia seeds, and 1 tablespoon of nut butter (usually peanut butter). Usually I stir the peanut butter in because it tastes like you are eating nut butter from the jar, but this week I haven’t since it is so drippy and delicious! Thank you Trader Joes for this mixed nut butter.

After procrastinating and doing my laundry I made lunch. Now I have been dreaming about my pulled pork for days and so I finished off the last of it…oops! It was just so delicious and you know what, that’s okay! So I had pulled pork, avocado, bell pepper tacos with a blood orange on the side. If anyone wants to make pulled pork, I just put two bone-in pork chops in the crock pot, added about an inch of water and some seasoning and cooked on high for about 6 hours. Then I shredded the pork, pulled out the bones,and drained the liquid before mixing with some Trader Joe’s BBQ sauce. Anyone else hate that the first ingredient of all BBQ sauces is sugar?! Oh well, you win some, you lose some.


I then managed to get my car out onto the road after digging it out and drove to do some errands. I bought a shovel that I proceeded to use to clear my parking spot in the driveway since there is a parking ban tonight. It felt good to get out of the house. I managed to not buy any Valentine’s Day candy but now I am regretting that decision.

A little while later I had a snack of a Siggi’s yogurt topped with Uncle Sam’s cereal. I only eat 2% or 4% yogurt these days. If I accidentally get a nonfat yogurt I put it back because it’s just not creamy enough for me. I wasn’t really hungry for this snack, but more so bored. This always happens to me when I do work from home. I know I can’t be the only one who experiences this.


I trudged my way up to class and while I was dreading the walk all day because I am tired (hello 8 mile run -> work 8 hour shift on your feet -> not enough sleep) but it was so enjoyable. I listed to music and walked slow to enjoy the scenery. It’s been a few years since we have gotten this much snow and I am going to enjoy it while I can. Which means I should cross country ski soon…maybe if I ever get my homework done…right now that would require me to stop scrapbooking every minute of every day.

After a very intriguing class (I wish it was longer than 75 minutes and I have never said that about a class before) I trudged back home while talking to my dad. Of course talk of job applications got me a bit heated (sorry Dad). I got home and didn’t feel like cooking anything even though I know from experience that cooking food and putting in effort makes the food taste so much better. I also didn’t eat at the table so I ate fast like I normally do. Boo. I can’t be too hard on myself. Eating alone is boring. I had leftover butternut squash soup from sometime in the fall and a few pieces of baguette with leftover artichoke antipasto. Again, Trader Joes killing it with the spreads! This was leftover from our book club event! As the host I got the leftover food. Too bad there wasn’t leftover wine…

(Terrible lighting…)

Funny story from book club: One of my friends (I won’t say who) went to open a bottle of wine and was struggling so hard. She couldn’t get the wine opener to screw into the top. Then I proceeded to let her know that the wine was a twist off…I still chuckle over this memory…my friends are the greatest!

Anyways, later tonight I envision myself baking up something tasty. I am not necessarily hungry but just want something comforting and sweet. And Valentine’s Day is tomorrow and I forgot to buy myself chocolate…maybe my mom will surprise me with a care package…ahhhh probably not. Wishful thinking, though.

In case you were curious I didn’t end up baking anything because I got too into scrapbooking, but I did end up feeling a twinge of hunger around 9pm. I thought about it for a bit and also felt like I wanted some more baguette with artichoke spread. Therefore, I had the rest of the baguette even though I had already brushed my teeth. It’s all a process. Every day I am learning more about my body and every day I am trying to be more in tune. What’s great is that every day I am more appreciative of all that my body does.

 

Leave a Reply

