What I Would Do For Peanut Sauce…

Anything. Literally anything. Peanut sauce is my jam. I say that a lot…that things are my jam. But it’s true and it mostly involves food.

The other night when I went over to Christine’s house and we made the deconstructed egg roll bowls (those were tasty!) we were chatting about how great it would taste with some peanut sauce thrown in and how that would be our next adventure. Little did Christine know but I had a peanut sauce meal planned for this week and I couldn’t wait to make it.

Tonight after I got home from the best yoga class (I say that after every class) I got cracking on this dinner. I vaguely followed the recipe for soba noodles with chicken and peanut sauce in my Runners World Cookbook (Sayago, 2013). I follow recipes for sauces, but what I mix in is never straightforward. Side note, I also had the hardest time finding soba noodles in the store, but now that I have found them I will be using them again! They took 90 seconds in the microwave to cook! Winner.

Try this recipe! And feel free to choose whichever protein/meat and vegetables that you want to use. All you absolutely need is the peanut sauce (duh), peanuts (another duh), soba noodles (do NOT substitute spaghetti or other noodles), and scallions.

These bowls are so full of protein from the tofu, peanut butter in the sauce, peanuts, and the edamame! The combination of flavors and textures is dreamy too! Let me know what you think if you try it 🙂

Peanutty Protein Noodle Bowl

(I hate putting servings because sometimes you’re body needs more than the serving size – listen to your body)

Ingredients

  • Peanut sauce
    • 3 tablespoons soy sauce
    • 2 tablespoons sesame oil*
    • 1 tablespoon peanut butter (add a little more if you’re a peanut butter fan)
    • 2 tablespoons water
    • 1/4 cup rice vinegar
    • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 14 ounces soba noodles
  • 1 bell pepper, color of your choice
  • 1/2 onion
  • 1 small bag frozen edamame
  • extra firm tofu**
  • peanuts
  • 3 scallions

Method

  1. Dice the pepper and onion. Add to a skillet with about 1-2 tablespoons of sesame oil. I had a generous pour since I knew it was all going to be stirred into the sauce.
  2. Cook your soba noodles according to the package directions. The box told me to pierce the plastic a few times and cook for 90 minutes.
  3. Mix together the ingredients for the peanut sauce. Whisk to combine.
  4. Once the noodles are done cooking toss with the peanut sauce.
  5. Add the sautéed peppers and onions.
  6. Steam the edamame once the soba noodles are no longer preoccupying the microwave. I cooked for about 4 minutes. Mix into the bowl of goodness.
  7. Cut the scallions and mix into the bowl.
  8. Dice the tofu into small squares.
  9. Scoop however much of the peanutty noodles/veggies/edamame you’d like into a bowl and top with the tofu and a handful of peanuts.

 

*Find this for cheaper in the international section. The flavor is essential for this dish!

** Use whatever protein you’d like. Chicken would also be great and a rotisserie chicken would be very easy!

 

References:

Sayago Golub J. The runner’s world cookbook. New York, New York: Rodale, 2013. Print.

One thought on “What I Would Do For Peanut Sauce…

Leave a Reply

