Breakfasts I am Loving

Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day. By far. I go to bed looking forward to breakfast the next morning. Usually I fall into a rut and eat the same foods over and over again (*cough* oatmeal *cough*). Lately I have been trying to branch out a bit and while I haven’t gone too crazy, I am still proud of myself for trying new things. That being said, I haven’t stopped eating my usual foods.

– The Usual –

Peanut butter oatmeal. This is my standard. And I usually use Smuckers Natural Creamy peanut butter or Trader Joes Natural Creamy peanut butter because those are my favorites. Whole grains, healthy fats, dairy, and antioxidants! What more could you ask for?! This breakfast stays with me for hours and I am never disappointed.

Peanut Butter Oatmeal

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup quick-cooking oats
  • 1/2 tablespoon chia seeds
  • 1/2 cup low-fat milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 tablespoon peanut butter
  • Fruit of your choice (I usually choose sliced banana or frozen blueberries)

Method

  1. Stir to combine the first 4 ingredients in a microwave-safe bowl. Microwave for 90 seconds and stir again. Microwave for another minute. If too dry add some milk/water. You will need it to be a little liquidy to stir in the peanut butter.
  2. Stir to combine the peanut butter.
  3. Top with fruit.

 

– Peanut Butter TOPPED oatmeal –

This really isn’t all that different from my normal peanut butter oatmeal, but I don’t stir the peanut butter in. I usually will have this breakfast if I have an extra creamy nut butter on hand (i.e. Trader Joes Natural Creamy or Trader Joes Mixed Nut Butter) because it spreads all over the oatmeal in a delicious way. I will usually stir in some spices to the oatmeal before topping with the nut butter and fruit too.

img_5480

– Overnight Oatmeal –

I make this a lot in the summer when I need a cold breakfast or when I have a very early shift at work or my favorite excuse…an almost empty jar of nut butter!



The ingredients are the same as my peanut butter oatmeal except I cut the water down from 1/2 cup to 1/4 cup because I don’t like my oats to be too watery in the morning.

– Yogurt Bowls –

For a while I loved having yogurt bowls for breakfast because I love cereal but it never feels like enough with just milk. I also realized that by adding some nut butter there is added staying power. Again, it contains all of my breakfast essentials: whole grains (cereal), dairy (yogurt), antioxidants (fruit), and healthy fats (nut butter). When I am not feeling super hungry I will have this meal without the peanut butter.

Megan's Customizable Yogurt Bowl

Ingredients

  • Two handfuls of your favorite cereal (or more if you’re feeling hungrier)
  • 6 ounces of yogurt (1 container) – your choice!
  • 1 tablespoon nut butter
  • Fruit (again, your choice!)

Method

  1. Dump the yogurt in your bowl.
  2. Top the yogurt with the cereal of choice.
  3. Spread the fruit around the perimeter of your bowl (for aesthetics, of course).
  4. Plop the nut butter in the center.

– Sweet Potato Breakfast –

This morning I tried a breakfast inspired by Monique of Ambitious Kitchen (Monique, 2016). I made her Breakfast Baked Sweet Potatoes because how could I not after seeing that picture?! I didn’t cook the potato in the oven because I am lazy in the morning and never want to wait for breakfast. I could the potato in the microwave. I also added ground flaxseed instead of chia seeds because I am running very low on chia seeds. And I used peanut butter instead of almond butter. I thought this would be a bit heavy for me since I wasn’t that hungry after a bigger dinner out last night, but it was so fresh and the flavors complemented each other very nicely. I enjoyed this meal quite a bit. Head on over to her recipe to try it for yourself!

Carbs from the banana and sweet potato, healthy fat from the nut butter and flaxseed to help me absorb the fat soluble vitamins in the sweet potato (Vitamin A!), and antioxidants from the sweet potato and the banana.

– Peanut Butter and Jelly Toast –

This is my breakfast on days of longer runs…but I feel like you all don’t need a recipe for this (at least I hope)…

So there you have it, my favorite breakfasts lately. I haven’t been making many pancakes or waffles lately, but some day that will happen. Usually when I have other people to cook for.


References:

Monique. Breakfast Baked Sweet Potatoes with Almond Butter, Banana and Chia. Ambitious Kitchen. http://www.ambitiouskitchen.com/2016/09/breakfast-baked-sweet-potatoes/. Posted September 12, 2016. Accessed February 23, 2017.

Leave a Reply

