Gastro Grub Getaway

Sometimes you just need to get out of the house or alter from your routine. This weekend I have worked Friday-Sunday and was in a funk. Working when my friends have off tends to do that to me. Anyways, I had texted my neighbor the other day asking if she wanted to order in food sometime and watch a movie and we made plans immediately. But being indecisive about food and wanting to just get out and “get away” we decided to go to the neighboring St. Paul Street Gastro Grub (which I keep calling the Gastro Pub…)


We drove because it was freezing, but it’s easily walkable from our house. It’s cozy and welcoming as well, but you need to know where to find it because there is no sign. We grabbed a spot at the bar and ordered a beer. I went with Smuttynose Blackberry something…in honor of the twin who is running the Napa Valley Marathon today. She’s going to crush it. I have no doubt in my mind.

Then we were having so much trouble deciding what to eat. The food is definitely pub-style food, but it’s good! They have a typical burger, nachos and wings, but also a hand dipped corn dog, fried brie, truffle fries and a fried chicken sandwich. We decided to split an appetizer (the fried brie) and an entree (the fried chicken sandwich). Both were great choices! May be the best fried chicken sandwich I have had.


I left feeling full, but not overly stuffed and happy that I got my fry-fix. It’s been a while since I had fries and this past week one of my classrooms kept smelling like fries and so I had been craving some. Some days you just want fries and a burger or fries and fried brie 😉 Role with it. It isn’t an every day occurrence. I have to admit I was feeling guilty ordering these items since my cholesterol was high the other day, but on most days I choose unsaturated fats and going out with friends doesn’t happen that often.


On another note this was just the evening I needed. I love staying in and catching up with friends, but there is something else about sitting at a bar casually having a drink (just one) and getting to know each other. We chatted for a few hours and nobody seemed to mind that we were just hanging out (at this point just drinking water). We made some plans to watch a chick flick soon (because we talked too much to watch one after) and go to yoga. It’s so great making new friends and even better when you can plan things to look forward to!

Great night and highly recommend the Gastro Grub.

Leave a Reply

