Rest Days

My body loves rest days. Mentally and physically. Today I was planning on running but I woke up to snow, wind, and a sore body from my tempo run yesterday. Rest day it is. Just means I mentally have to get up before work to run tomorrow. I can do it…

This morning I finished some homework before going to my dermatology appointment. Starting last year I have been getting an annual skin check. To be honest, I could have been better about the suntan lotion growing up (hello sunburn in Martinique…) and my beautiful blue eyes and skin tone put me at a higher risk. I am also one to be into taking preventative measures so why not, right?

img_5709

After my appointment I came home and decided to whip up some protein balls to have during my travels next week. I also always do my cooking the day after vacuuming…why, Megan, why?

Anyways, I loosely followed Anne’s recipe for Salty Maple Nut Energy Bites using what I had on hand. I always have peanut butter on hand and never have nuts, but I have found that using less nut butter than the recipe calls for nuts tends to work (i.e. this recipe called for 2 cups of nuts and I used maybe 3/4 cup of nut butter). I also used a combination of the last of my cereal and wheat bran for the dry ingredients (I still have so much wheat bran). Instead of dates I used rehydrated raisins which I promptly spilt all over my counter and heard water dripping, but couldn’t figure out where…it happens. Life of a tiny kitchen…

The batter (is that what you call it?) stuck together perfectly although it is a bit oily. It made 16 balls of a pretty decent size and I am so looking forward to these for snacks and running fuel! Look for my altered recipe below!


After getting those situated in the refrigerator I roasted an acorn squash and some brussels sprouts to have for dinner the next two nights. I get home from class late on Tuesdays and Thursdays and am never in the mood to cook. I am also trying to use up the food in my refrigerator before my parents come this weekend and I take a quick trip to Portsmouth/Portland/Boston. Talk about crazy next few days for me!

Sitting down now to do some homework before getting up to campus for class (it feels like so much effort…)

Maple Peanut Butter Chia Energy Balls

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup nut butter of your choice
  • 1 cup rehydrated raisins (soak in water while getting other ingredients ready)
  • 2 cups dry ingredients (I used 1 cup of cereal and 1 cup of wheat bran)
  • 1/8 cup chia seeds
  • 1/8 cup ground flaxseed
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup

Method

  1. Combine ingredients in a food processor and pulse into mixed together thoroughly.*
  2. Form into balls. I made about 16 energy balls of a good size (one seems like plenty for me, but some days I will definitely need 2 depending on my hunger).
  3. Store in the refrigerator.

*This was a lot for my small food processor to handle and I actually had to pulse it together in two separate batches. Can cut the recipe in half if need be. 

 

References:

  1. Anne. Salty maple nut energy bites. Fannetastic Food. http://www.fannetasticfood.com/salty-maple-nut-energy-bites-recipe/. Published September 17, 2015. Accessed March 9, 2017.
One thought on “Rest Days

Leave a Reply

