WIAW – Traveling

Today’s What I Ate Wednesday takes a look at what I ate on a day of traveling and site seeing. I woke up at 6:30 to my alarm and promptly fell back asleep. I had slept great and wanted a little bit more rest. So I slept until 7am and it felt great. The wind chill still said negative degrees so Julie and I opted to not go for a run. Good choice in my opinion. Breakfast for me was a large cup of coffee, two pieces of Ezekiel toast with peanut butter and jam and two clementines. I have really been into the toast lately and this is what I brought with me to Julie’s.


I worked on some homework and some transportation planning for the next hour before getting ready. I had an informal interview at 2pm so I wanted to have enough time to look the part. Of course I couldn’t find a blow dryer. But I had plenty of time to let my hair air dry.

Around 11am I had a yogurt for a snack because I was starting to get hungry and I knew I wouldn’t be eating for a while. Julie’s boyfriend was driving with me to Portland and we have epic eating plans. I know this wasn’t the point of my trip to Portland, but I was so so excited. The night before we had researched Duckfat and Holy Donut. I had a minor heart attack when I thought Duckfat wasn’t open on Mondays, but do not fear, it is. Julie and I also stalked Holy Donut’s Instagram account and were drooling…


I spent some time researching the commuter rail and subway system for my travels the following day and of course it was supposed to blizzard…

Greg picked my up at 11:50 and we hit the road for Portland. We got to Holy Donut at 12:45 and ran inside expecting them to be sold out of the popular flavors. Lucky for us it was a Monday and we had our pick! Buying ½ dozen turned into buying a whole dozen. We couldn’t resist.

  • 2 maple frosted
  • 2 dark chocolate coconut
  • 2 dark chocolate sea salt
  • 1 dark chocolate cinnamon
  • 1 sweet potato ginger glazed
  • 1 vegan vanilla coconut
  • 1 old fashioned
  • 1 berry cannoli
  • 1 vanilla glazed

I’ve never been a huge donut fan but when they are homemade and local and each one is hand cut I can get on board. Especially when the story behind the store is an owner’s desire for a healthy donut. Because yes donuts can be part of a healthy lifestyle. I had a few bites…and then some of most of the flavors and am so happy we tried as many as we could because how often am I in Portland?! Thank you for the suggestion Colleen!!

Greg and I sped over to Duckfat to get some food before my appointment at Maine Medical. The service was fantastic. I mentioned I had an appointment and the waiter said he could seat us immediately and likely be in and out in a half hour. I wish I had more time there. Greg and I both ordered snacks. Fried Brussels with apples and maple bacon in a mustard vinegar for me…


And poutine for him…


We both got the duck confit panini which had pickled apple and kohlrabi with an herb mayo.


After my appointment Greg and I explored some more. I was psyched he didn’t go to Harbor Fish Market without me. We picked out some oysters and salmon to have later! I was the only one in heels in the Fish Market.


We also stopped at Cabela’s to look at the stuffed animals and the fish and why not?!


We came home and I couldn’t wait any longer to try the donuts!! We dug in. Julie and I split the dark chocolate coconut and tried almost all the other ones…don’t worry there are still a lot left 😉


We finished the night with wine and oyster! Living the coastal life.

Greg also made us delicious salmon, rice pilaf and broccoli. I also had a few more bites of donuts because they were calling to me.

My appointments in Boston fell through tomorrow because of the storm so I am enjoying a snow day with my sister. And hopefully a run.

3 thoughts on “WIAW – Traveling

Leave a Reply

