Being Flexible

Things don’t always go according to plan. This past week was a perfect example. For one, I was supposed to go into Boston on Tuesday and then a blizzard hit…in March. I ended up going into Boston on Thursday instead. I was supposed to drive back to Vermont Thursday evening, but my car had engine trouble. Luckily my parents are amazing and I made it home and my dad took over from there. I was able to return to Vermont on Friday…only a few days late. Saturday I woke up with a flat tire and had to speed walk up the icy hill to get to work on time…not fun. I was supposed to run 6 miles that day, but after a miracle (aka help from Rebecca and her husband, whom I am eternally grateful) I ended up getting a new tire and going grocery shopping instead. Moral of my spring break: Things happen. You can’t control them. And life wasn’t made to be planned and executed perfectly. 

While life isn’t perfect, neither is marathon training or marathon fueling. And it’s not supposed to be perfect.

Marathon training: This week, while staying at Julie’s I took a rest day (which was beautiful and sunny) simply because I wanted to taste test donuts with Julie and Greg instead…it happens. Then later in the week I was kicking myself for skipping a day with perfect running weather when Mother Nature decided to dump over a foot of snow creating very challenging running conditions. But would I give back that day of donut eating for the run that I had scheduled? No.


I made plans to reschedule the missed run on Saturday after work. I knew this would be a mental struggle since the gym was closed that weekend (Spring Break), but I also knew that with the time change the days are longer and the sun would {hopefully} inspire me. Unfortunately, I had one of the most challenging days at work, not to mention dealing with a flat tire, and all I could manage to do was grocery shop, cook dinner, and drink some (or 2 glasses) wine. It was all I could muster and I had to accept that.


Speed work also didn’t happen this week without a gym to use and icy sidewalks and/or snow everywhere. My long run this past week was so much slower because of the uneven and icy terrain. The motivation was also lacking since I was not at home most of the week and was dealing with a lot of change, drastic weather, and challenging situations. If I have learned anything this past year (aka while in rotations) it’s that when things are difficult in one area of your life you need to cut yourself some slack in other areas. 

Marathon fueling: This past week was Spring break and of course I found myself eating more high fat, high sugar foods than normal…and drinking much more wine. You saw the picture of the donuts…and I had more time to cook delicious food. I’ve also been noticing that my clothes fit differently. While this bothered me one morning when trying to find something to wear to a presentation, it didn’t last long. My body has come so far since this time last year. Rotations limited my physical activity and now I am running at least 30 miles a week! Last week I ran 15 miles consecutively which is my longest run to date. I also value my newfound relationship with sweets. If I want them they are there and there is absolutely nothing wrong with that. Tonight Molly and I enjoyed some of Trader Joe’s version of Oreos and I happily dipped mine in peanut butter. I can’t tell you the last time I had an Oreo with peanut butter (actually yes I can, it was Easter of my Freshman year…when I had given up chocolate for Lent and proceeded to eat all of the tempting foods). Now I can enjoy these foods and not feel like I am going to overdo it. I had a few Oreos and felt satisfied. There is a huge difference, from what I have noticed, in the way that I am approaching food and I no longer feel controlled by it. It’s freeing, but a daily process.


I continue to struggle with intuitive eating since I am a planner. I try to budget myself while grocery shopping and plan my meals to a “T”. However, then I find I am highly unsatisfied with the food that I eat. I’ve noticed by having more snacks available and more options of things to cook for meals I am more creative in the kitchen and enjoy the food more. Determining how to balance having more options while also remaining true to my hunger levels and letting that drive my eating habits is a continual process. There is no perfect way to eat, though, and normal eating can mean under or overeating on occasion.

All I can do is continue to train day by day and continue to practice intuitive eating meal by meal. It won’t be perfect, nor should it be.

Happy training and definitely happy eating everyone.

Leave a Reply

