WIAW – Brussels Sprouts!

I cannot wait to share the brussels sprouts recipe with you guys! But don’t skip ahead or you’ll miss some good stuff. The food featured today is everything (or almost everything since I am terrible with remembering to take pictures of my snacks) that I ate on Monday.

Before I get into the food I want to mention why I like doing What I Ate Wednesday posts. It’s not meant to make anyone feel bad or guilty about what he/she eats on a day to day basis. Everyone is different and every day is different. It’s about sharing meal ideas and getting excited about food, all kinds of food! I also want people to see that dietitians (or future dietitians in my case) don’t just eat fruit and vegetables. I eat all kinds of foods. I go out to eat. I cook for myself. And sometimes I eat eggs and toast for dinner. Nobody is perfect. And guess what? There is no perfect way of eating.

– – – –

Breakfast: OaTmEaL!!! By far my breakfast staple. Today was a rest day so no toast for me. I was stuck between yogurt and banana bread, but was really feeling the oatmeal. This batch was a classic peanut butter and chia seed oatmeal with frozen blueberries. Nothing beats frozen Wyman’s blueberries on oatmeal. These little guys are so full of flavor!

Lunch: Leftover ciabatta baguette with avocado, spinach and two drippy eggs. Carrots on the side. Oh em gee. So good. I haven’t cooked eggs on my non-stick skillet for making pancakes before but after throwing out an old pan I decided to give it a whirl and I have never made better drippy eggs! Can’t wait to cook some more this week.

Snack(s): A banana because I am trying to eat a banana every day for the potassium. Cocoa roasted and salted almonds which is a perfect combination. And a clementine a bit later during class.

Dinner: The good stuff! I had chicken breasts cooking in Trader Joe’s Golden BBQ sauce all day and could not wait to get home. Unfortunately, I left them cooking for too long and then didn’t shred the chicken in more sauce so the breasts were so dry! Womp womp. On the plus side, I am loving Trader Joe’s mixed quinoa blend because it cooks in ten minutes and is super tasty. I am all out right now and need to get some more this week. I also cooked up some brussels sprouts. I tried to recreate as best I could the brussels sprouts dish that I had at Duckfat. It was just missing the duckfat and the thick cut bacon…definitely adds something to the dish. Scroll down for the recipe!

Snack after dinner: 2 squares of chocolate. I have been keeping my chocolate bars in the pantry instead of the freezer and when I do decide I want some it is so much more satisfying when the chocolate actually melts in my mouth instead of cracking a tooth! I’m a fan 🙂

Duckfat Imitation Brussels Sprouts

Ingredients:

  • Brussels sprouts (the more the better)
  • 1 medium apple of your choice, diced (I used Golden Delicious)
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • Maple syrup
  • Apple cider vinegar
  • Dijon mustard

Method:

  1. Cut the ends off of your brussels sprouts and then cut in half. Mix with some olive oil and roast in the oven at 425 degrees for 20 minutes.
  2. After 20 minutes add the diced apple and onion to the pan and cook for an additional 20 minutes. Apples may still have a little crunch but that’s okay.
  3. Once done, dump everything into a bowl and then add a big scoop of Dijon mustard, a few swirls of maple syrup, and a few swirls of apple cider vinegar. Taste. Clearly I didn’t measure. If you want more maple, add more maple. If you want more kick, add more vinegar.

Leave a Reply

