Dealing with Change

Graduation is in less than a month. I move in a little over a month (don’t ask me where. If you ask my parents they would probably say, “hopefully not home.”) This equates to goodbyes and endings. But it also means there are new beginnings to look forward to.

Last Thursday and Friday I drove down to Boston and back. Then I worked the whole weekend. Then Monday after an all day conference I drove down to Portsmouth. Tuesday I drove to Portland and back. Wednesday I drove back to Vermont.

All of the money that I have (and then some) has gone towards gas, tolls (holy toll charges!), coffee, more coffee, food, and wine. Right now in my refrigerator there is a yogurt, 1/2 a can of pinto beans, half a bag of baby carrots (my hands are orange) and some shredded cheese…I’m pretty sure the milk is bad. Luckily I have seven jars of nut butter…three of which are open….but no bread…


My eating schedule has been so off. And although I’ve tried to be in tune with my body, some days are harder than others for any number of reasons.

I am exhausted. This makes it more challenging to tune into my hunger and fullness cues. I’m also more likely to choose foods for comfort or emotional reasons (wine and chocolate anyone?!)

I am living at other peoples’ homes. This equates to eating out a lot or eating what is available. Sometimes you have to eat foods you would not normally eat or eat when you aren’t hungry because you have to eat. I always bring breakfast and snacks with me so that helps.

I am constantly driving. I don’t know about you but I get bored while I’m driving. I like driving in the morning because I can bring my coffee on the road. In the afternoon or evening I am a snack monster. Especially after driving the same boring route four times in six days.

Everything combined leads to a bit more emotional eating than I care to admit and a few extra glasses of wine on the more challenging days. But I made those decisions being aware of why I was making them.
I ate overnight oatmeal and Cadbury eggs for dinner when I drove to Portsmouth.

I spent a lot simply to get some delicious vegetables, whole grains and tofu from Whole Foods. Was craving vegetables hard!


I didn’t get a donut from the Holy Donut because I felt all donut-ed out.

I made two dinners. One was my peannutty noodle bowl for Julie and Greg. I really wanted pizza but they had pizza a few nights ago so I made pizza for me and the former for them.

I ate half my pizza for dinner and the other half for lunch. I had been craving it for a while. My body wanted it.

I took Tuesday off from running even though I had 5 miles planned. My knee wasn’t bothering me too much, but I was truly drained.

I had toast with almond cashew butter and jam for breakfast even though I didn’t want toast. But it’s what I brought for breakfast.

After cleaning my apartment I fell asleep…I was so tired. I guess my long run wasn’t going to happen. I ended up doing 5 slow miles instead. It worries me that this injury thing is happening during my peak training weeks. Julie told me to listen to my body and cut back when I need to because it takes longer than I think to lose fitness. I don’t want to get more injured but I also want to be able to finish the race. So intuitive exercise it is. Well, semi-intuitive. I still have a training plan to follow, I just rearrange the days. I’m going to try for a long run. It was supposed to be a tempo but I’m cutting back the speed.


I had yogurt with cereal and peanut butter with a side of grapes for dinner. Later on I had an apple for a snack. Holy fruit!


Change throws everything for a loop. Sometimes you just have to go with the flow and realize that things are not going as planned. I am working on this now and let me tell you it’s not easy. Julie just had a great post about listening to your body when training (head on over to her blog!). It’s hard, but for now you can catch me watching Netflix while I bike at the gym (and semi enjoying it) and trying to survive the last few weeks of the semester!

Leave a Reply

