One Month

I am focusing a little less on marathon training/fueling right now because

  1. I am dealing with some IT Band pain (PT is scheduled for Friday and I have been biking lately…my butt is so sore).
  2. I have been eating and drinking my way through Burlington to savor every last bit of it!

So the focus in my life is on friends and fun. Less about food and training.

****

I finally made it back to Burlington on Wednesday after so so so much travel. And while I love the chance to see friends, my twin, and her BF it’s exhausting. I was so ready for my bed. And to cook food (not that I have cooked once since getting back…)

Thursday: Restaurant week plans!!!! After trying for 17 miles and making it 5 before my leg locked and I limped home, I was ready for some friend time. I have not seen Maia and Joey in so long and was looking forward to this all week. Not to mention the weather was GORGEOUS so we walked to dinner!! We went to Our House Bistro for their restaurant deal. It was a ton of food and I practically dragged my butt up the hill after dinner.

We started with some rose because the weather was fantastic (not that that’s the only time you can drink rose…YOLO).

For appetizers Maia and I each got the pulled pork poutine and Joe got the spinach and artichoke dip. For the entree Joe got the lamb burger and Maia and I went with the mac and cheese flights. It featured buffalo chicken, caprese, and a sweet and salty one (like maple with beef and fried jalapenos…).

(devoured…because who likes leftover poutine??!)

Dessert was deep fried PBJ…I couldn’t resist. I love peanut butter.

Friday: The next day I woke up early to bike before work. It felt nice to be at work on a weekday, but boy are 10:30-7 shifts tough for this morning person. Luckily (for me) Nolan texted me that his restaurant week plans fell through and since I love food I offered up my company. Yes, I will invite myself on people’s dinner plans…it’s all about the experience people. Restaurant week is one of the most exciting weeks for me! We ended up going to The Gryphon. It was dark inside and I was too chatty to remember to take a picture. But I do remember what I had because it was so tasty:

  • Cocktail: Summer Gimlet made with muddled cucumber and basil.
  • Rabbit…it had another word in the name, but basically it was rabbit with some toasted bread and a small salad with endive and arugula.
  • Filet with amazing mashed potatoes and green beans. This was cooked so well and the potatoes were out of this world (like Nolan said, probably cooked with lots of butter and cream…yes, but so good).
  • Hazelnut ice cream.

We were so impressed with the food. I offered some of my filet to Nolan…completely forgetting that the only food he does not eat is beef. Good one, Megan. Left feeling so satisfied and not too stuffed. WIN!

After dinner we walked down Church Street a bit before ending up at Foam on the waterfront. And what do you know, but it was their first anniversary party so it was PACKED. There was live music too! I wish I ordered their coconut beer, but I was not in a sweet mood after ice cream. Of course I ordered the highest alcohol beer…oops.

Saturday: Staying out a bit late the night before and a 5am wake up call meant for a tired day. But I made it through work and then even had the energy to bike for 2 hours at the gym. I watched Greys Anatomy and then Gilmore Girls to pass the time.

Driving home I was hit with intense sadness that I ended up crying before I even pulled into the driveway. I felt so happy that I got to spend Thursday with Maia and Joe. And I was so happy I got to catch up with Nolan on Friday. It’s easy friendships like these that make me sad because they’re hard to find and I’m moving away. It’s not every day that you meet someone with whom you share so many interests with that it’s almost scary. It’s not everyday you meet someone who makes you laugh with every word they say. And it’s definitely not every day that you meet someone who is there for you through the good, the bad, and the ugly and is always honest with you even if it’s tough love you need. Burlington is home because of the friends I have made.


Lucky for me, Maia is always there for me and invited me out. It was just what I needed to be out and having fun with these three. I am so glad I went even if it meant another night of staying up too late before an early alarm. We went to the outdoor bar at Juniper and had a cocktail. My first cocktail made with egg white because I was told it’s an experience I must have. Check.

Then we went to Church and Main because they were closing for good and it’s on my restaurant bucket list. I went with the bartender’s choice and after telling him I like gin and wanted something refreshing, he made me…a CUCUMBER GIMLET! Seriously people, get ready for the summer of the gimlet. I’ve already recruited Nolan to teach me how to make it. So good. SO refreshing.


At the end of the night I ran home and straight into bed.

Sunday: I woke up with the birds (seriously, if they could sleep a little bit later that would be great). Work was a bit of a struggle but I kept it to one cup of coffee surprisingly. After work I dragged my butt to the gym to bike for 30 minutes. I have been biking the amount of time that it takes me to run my planned miles. I have also been stretching and doing some strength. I need to remember to ice though…shoot.


After that was Colleen’s birthday at Paint and Sip!!! What an amazing idea for a birthday celebration. I loved the painting and it was so relaxed and we had a big group of friends. I painted sober and had a much steadier hand 🙂 Alex and I were singing to the 90s music that was playing the whole time. Love me some Brittney Spears and N’Sync. Greatest playlist ever. I think we did a pretty stellar job. The second tree from the right looks a bit medussa-esque.


I ended the night talking to my parents who said I am doing a great job and can’t believe I am almost done with school! It’s so surreal. Scary. And Surreal. I ended the night with some music and a Cadbury chocolate that my parents sent me from London (Double Decker!).

Feeling so lucky after the past few days.

Leave a Reply

