Sometimes I need to go to bed at 7:30…

I’ve definitely talked about cutting yourself some slack before. There are times in our lives that are physically and/or emotionally challenging and, therefore, we need to cut slack in other areas. Maybe your relationship just ended and you’re emotionally distraught. It’s okay to have a little extra ice cream while you regroup or sleep in and miss a workout or two. Maybe you’re in a transition period of your life with new everything and feeling unsettled. That’s a time to step back and really figure out what self care means to you. I’m trying to do that currently…

 
Don’t get me wrong, the transition that I’m in currently has been the best thing that’s happened to me. It’s just been a lot of work and very tiring. I’ve come to realize that eating more indulgent foods, spending more money to see friends and exercising less is my way of cutting slack in areas where I’m usually more diligent. I physically don’t have the energy to run or the mental capacity to budget my money after working and a two hour commute. I don’t cook on weekdays and meals become boring which leads to overeating (for me). I try my best to meal prep on weekends but more often than not I find myself eating avocado toast (hey I’m totally okay with that). Yes, there have been times where I mentally beat myself up for eating high fat comfort foods and not exercising. Then I take a step back and say, “Woah, Megan. This is not fair. You’ve already taken on a lot. Give yourself some credit.” While I know eating fruits and vegetables and exercising will make me feel better I also know that some days (if not most days) I need to lie down and watch copious amounts of Netflix…and eat some ice cream. Or drink some wine…or both. Food is so much more than nutrients.

Now I’m trying to listen to my body and identify what I need in the moment with no judgement. Easier said than done.



So what steps have I taken?

1. Reading social media and blog posts that support this mentality. It’s hard enough to deal with your own internal struggle, don’t let others get you down too. 

2. Journal. Sometimes so much is going on I can’t pinpoint what I’m feeling or what I need. So I write it out. Sometimes it becomes clear and sometimes not, but the process helps.

3. Set SMALL goals that are achievable. Mine right now is to drink 1500ml at work (my water bottle has measurements). When I do this I feel so much better on the commute home. I’m not a fan of goals that restrict, I like to add in a good habit. 

4. Sleep. This has been the most challenging for me. Getting up at 4:30 is HARD. But when I’m asleep by 8:30 the next day feels so much better. It doesn’t mean I’ll definitely exercise or eat all my vegetables, but it’s a step in the right direction.
Baby steps. 

Right now is not the time for me to exercise five days a week and cook homemade meals. It’s not the time to be overly strict about money if it means seeing friends and getting out. This is my right now. Mine, not anybody else’s. So I’m going to work on being okay with that. While I wait for a train that is never coming…

Leave a Reply

